Supanova 2013

Well, I said I’ll show some photos from the Cosplay Parade at the Supanova Gold Coast convention.

My friend Hope came along with me, we woke up early and headed down to the coast early on a Sunday morning. It was fun! We didn’t actually know exactly it was going to be held, but we found it by following Iron Man (seriously, he was crossing the road. How many times in your life can you say that you saw Tony Stark cross the road??). As the cosplayers started arriving, we decided to check out all the costumes – there were so many people, I estimate a few of hundred people.

Anyway – I think the parade went so well for the first time they’ve ever had one. The council even got the police to close off the road for a moment (which was awesome) AND guess who decided to come too? David Hasselhoff was there too. We got up close to him too, but no real good photos either – too many people in the way unfortunately. The organizers used a replica Kitt car and he surprised everyone by joining in the parade. All the bystanders – who had confused faces when they first saw all these people dressed up as characters – rushed to the car when they saw him.

We walked the whole way with the cosplayers until we got back to the convention building. By this time, we decided to go back in and check out the place again (we weren’t going to do that because we were hungry – but it was just too much fun). We got some food, got some goodies, chatted with some up-and-coming artists (some amazing work) and even saw Barbara Eden. No, I didn’t get a photo of her, not only did my camera lock, but some of the workers came up to me and told me not to take photos of her šŸ˜¦ We also saw Adam Balwin, Rose McGowan and Natalia Tena and Ray Park.

We also discovered a charity group that involves dressing up as superheroes and visiting children’s hospitals for fun. I think that was one of the best ideas ever – Drawn2Life is their name – look them up.

DSC_0008 DSC_0011 DSC_0013 DSC_0019 DSC_0024 DSC_0028 DSC_0056 DSC_0501 DSC_0435 DSC_0127 DSC_0075 DSC_0066 DSC_0083 DSC_0088 DSC_0099 DSC_0231 DSC_0175 DSC_0114 DSC_0107 DSC_0357 DSC_0395 DSC_0411 DSC_0503

 

One thought on “Supanova 2013

  1. These are some great photos Lari!! I think my favourite costume and photo is of Chewbacca. He was so freaking tall!!! I love all the effort that the cosplay-ers went to with their costumes – I would love to do it some day with you!

Leave a Reply

