Huntress went hunting…

Well, it’s that time of year again…Supanova at the Gold Coast. I wrote about the last Supanova before, so there’s no surprise to most of you.

This year, some of the guests were some of the greatest minds in the comic industry – I was going there for Gail Simone and Nicola Scott! I had been looking forward to this for months, and I was finally getting to meet them! Yay! Of course, there were others there too – the great Dave Gibbons (Watchmen), and Terry and Rachel Dodson (Wonder Woman, Captain Marvel) as well as other celebrities. Gail Simone has written many books, Birds of Prey, Wonder Woman, Secret Six to name a few, and she is currently working on Batgirl and will start on Red Sonja!

Anyway, one of the characters in Birds of Prey – Huntress, is one of my favourites. I love her because she is just badass. She’s tough and doesn’t take rubbish from anyone but deep down, she’s just like one of us. Anyway, since I am a brunette, I thought I’d dress up like her. Mind you, this is my very first Cosplay and never thought I’d be doing this. Plus, I thought it would be a good opportunity to try and secretly impress Gail and Nicola, who drew Huntress for many issues – and I think it worked! Yay! Thanks goes to my mother who patiently helped me make the costume, even going to bed late with me the night before to get it all sorted out – it worked well. Mom even came with me to the convention the next day and had to suffer the frustration of horrible traffic on the way to the Gold Coast.

The point is – I was excited – so excited that in the morning, I couldn’t pick which book to get signed, so I just grabbed a few of them (and when I got to the convention, I bought another book that I thought I was missing – but no, I already had a copy, so now I’m sporting 2 copies Β of Batgirl Vol 2, one signed, one not :/ ). You could tell who the fans were – there were many characters who had been written by Gail, including Batgirl, Lady Blackhawk etc. Good on you guys for dressing up!

Huntress, Author, Batgirl

Huntress, Author, Batgirl

I met Gail Simone!!

I met Gail Simone!!

Gail was awesome, she signed my books, took a photo with me and complimented me and mom on my awesome costume (thanks mom)!

Next up is Nicola Scott – I was very excited to meet her too, it’s great seeing female illustrators in such a male dominated industry. I like her art because it’s bright, it’s realistic and it’s feminine.

With Nicola Scott!

With Nicola Scott!

Nicola signed my copy of Birds of Prey too πŸ™‚ I bought off her an amazing print of Wonder Woman, which I will have to frame and hang somewhere in my shelf-covered room – I’ll make space for it πŸ˜€

I also had to stop by and meet Dave Gibbons, the man behind the art in Watchmen. He even drew a little Rorschach (who happens to be my favourite character of that book)Β on my copy of Watchmen . That was pretty damn cool.

Mr Dave Gibbons

Mr Dave Gibbons

And last but not least, Terry and Rachel Dodson. Terry Dodson actually worked with Gail Simone on a few Wonder Woman issues. He has done work on Marvel’s X-Men too, and Rachel Dodson is working on some Marvel books as well. They work as a team!

Terry & Rachel Dodson

Terry & Rachel Dodson

For the rest of the time I was there, we just walked, checked out the kiosks/stands, the toys and comics. There were so many great costumes. The Cosplay parade was on the following day – and I will have to blog about that one too soon (more photos to come!). I love seeing people dressing up – it really does mean a lot to some of us. I think it shows character too, you gotta have some balls to do it – so good on to all those cosplayers to went to the convention! I think my favourite part is seeing kids faces when they see a superhero or character they love – their expression says it all.

With Khal Drogo!

With Khal Drogo!

Huntress, Sinestro, The Joker and Superman

Huntress, Sinestro, The Joker and Superman

This last one is just of me. πŸ˜‰

;)

πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

