Pokhara

I thought I’d write something about Pokhara before I forget everything I saw and experienced. My stomach didn’t really have a good time when I was there, but my eyes and heart did.

I wasn’t here long, but it was a good break. With the group, we visited Davis Falls (and also crossed the road to the other side, went underneath the other side and went down the stairs to see the underground waterfall, where the Hindu statue is too), we went to a couple of Tibetan monasteries (and camps) and we even had tea with a Tibetan family (this was probably the best part of the visit). The food would have been excellent if I had been able to eat anything, but unfortunately I couldn’t. At least I had the other cities to look forward to!

Davis Falls

We also went for a walk at Fewa (or Phewa) Lake. We didn’t actually end up getting on a boat and rowing on the lake, we didn’t get enough time, but it was nice to just walk past and smell the air. It was a little cloudy those 2 days we were there, and after coming from Bandipur, it was a bit of a change to be honest. I had gotten used to the small/quiet village life.

Fewa Lake

At the Tibetan monasteries, there was an ending to a celebration or festival (forgive me, I don’t remember the name at all), so we were allowed to sit inside and listen to the monks chant (obviously, without making noise). I think we were there for 30 minutes of the session, and stayed until they finished and exited. I admit it was relaxing to just sit there and absorb it all, to try and meditate while they chant.

Sneaky photo of monks chanting!! 🙂

Entrance to Monastery #2

Prayer flag poles…

Just before the entrance to the monastery, we did visit our guide’s friend, who lived there at the camp with her sisters, brother and mother. We were invited inside their home, they made some tea and Tibetan bread, and we sat down, talked and got to know them. They are strong women, and it was a pleasure meeting them! It’s amazing what people go through, and what they do to survive. I won’t say any more.

One place that I visited that to this day, has still made such an impression on me, is the International Mountaineering Museum. Yes, there are displays of equipment, photos of people climbing, records etc., but what impressed me the most were the stories of the climbers. They have a whole section just on the climbers, their background, what they did to climb Mt. Everest (or the rest of the Himalayas or Annapurnas, any other mountains etc.), what became of them after the ascent etc. There was a short display on Tenzing Norgay and Hillary (I liked Tenzing’s the best, personally I think he deserves the credit more than Hillary, but that’s just me) and there was a display on the first woman to climb Everest and all the highest summits in each continent on Earth, Ms Junko Tabei – I thought that was truly inspiring. I walked out of that museum wishing I had gone on an Everest adventure, not to Pokhara.

Walkway towards the entry of the museum…

Maybe that’s something to do in the future right? 😉

Leave a Reply

