#1 Something Old…Something New: Madrid

Since I haven’t got any new things to show you at the moment (I’m working on some stuff so don’t worry!), I thought I’d show you some of my old stuff from my travels. I am aiming to show you bits and pieces from all the cities, so we will take it one step at a time. Number one stop: Madrid.

I’ve always loved Spain; its culture, language, music, food, passion – not just because my family is originally from here ;). My cousin Norma lives in Madrid, so when I finished university, I thought, what the hell, time to go to the place I’ve always wanted to go and hang out with one of my closest cousins! Norma and I used to write to each other as kids, so we pretty much grew up together (in a long-distance kind of way). I’ve been to Madrid a few times now (and counting!), and it never gets boring. Favourite place in Madrid? Well…good question. I loved the Sol area and its plaza – it’s always buzzing with people coming and going to work, tourists taking in the atmosphere and the students sitting down and having a rest. I love Plaza Mayor and its shops and markets – people getting their cartoon drawn by street artists, taking in the art and paintings on the building wall. I love the Prado and Reina Sofia – two of the greatest and my favourite collections of art. Really too many places to mention.

I have a lot more photos that I would love to share, but then that would take forever to put on this blog. I’ve only selected a few randoms – from different places around the city. From seeing an older couple arguing in gallery gardens, to a taxi parking area in La Puerta de Atocha station.

So here are a few photos from my trips.

Metropolis?!

Querida...?

Puerta de Alcala on a sunny day

Taxi parking at Atocha!

La Guernica por Picasso in Reina Sofia

Goya's statue outside El Prado

Plaza Mayor

One thought on “#1 Something Old…Something New: Madrid

Leave a Reply

